Dream Big

Dream Boards are one of my favorite ways to display my goals for the year!  I am a visual person so seeing my dreams EVERY day is a great help!  With the start of a new year you hear people talking about different resolutions.  According to the Statistic Brain Research Institute the top resolutions for 2015 were: Lose weight, get/stay organized, spend less money, enjoy life, and staying fit.  Is it just me or does it seem like the majority of the time people do not stick with their resolutions throughout the year.  Why is that?! Are we afraid to fail?   Afraid to become successful?!  Low self confidence?!  What comes between people and their dreams?!  I used to be the same way until I started making Dream Boards!  When it comes to goals I have learned through my business that if you write them down you are more likely to achieve them!

What’s a better way to display your goals than a dream board?!?!?! For those of you who IMG_3370aren’t sure what that is please, let me explain.  A dream board is a poster board full of pictures, words, affirmations, etc that represent your goals!
They are fun, easy to make and something you can incorporate with the entire family!  I’m going to share with you how to make a simple dream board that can hold you and your family accountable this year!  Let’s get started!

First make a list of your goals.  Think about this part make sure you are reaching big!  If your goals don’t scare you they aren’t big enough!!! If you are making a family dream board make sure to include the kiddos and their dreams as well.

 

Tools Needed:IMG_3368

  • Poster Board(s)
  • Scissors
  • Old Magazines (Goodwill sells magazines…who knew!)
  • Glue Sticks
  • Markers
  • Stencils, Paper Letters (if you cannot write/draw like me)
  • Anything else from the craft aisle to make your board pretty

 

Now on to the fun part! Go through all the magazines and cut out pictures of anything that catches your eye.  Phrases, photos, words cut it all out!  You can never have too many options for your board. I find it helpful to have an idea of what I am looking for while I’m flipping through.

IMG_3369

Once you have gone through all your magazines and everything is cut out it’s time to
start putting your board together!  I personally like to lay out all my clippings where I want them without gluing them down so I can move things around if needed.  I am one of those who will rearrange it 500 times and still not be happy with it. Trust me there is no right or wrong when it comes to making your Dream Board!

 

Here’s my end result!  As you can see there are personal and family goals on my board.  Nothing is out of reach!  Your board can include anything you want.  I have included several different types of goals as well.  I now have my Dream Board hanging on the wall so I can see it every single day.  We will achieve our dreams this year!!

IMG_3372

 

I hope you have as much fun making your boards as I did mine!  I cannot wait to start crossing off our dreams.

Until next time- Queen V

Leave a comment